2018 James B. Recchie Design Award


5:30 PM to 8:00 PM

$50 - $60

Franklin Park Conservatory and Botanical Gardens

1777 East Broad Street, Columbus, OH 43203


Get Details


Join us at the beautiful Wells Barn at Franklin Park Conservatory to celebrate the Finalists & Toast the winner of the 2018 James B. Recchie Design Award.  This award will be the 29th given in honor of the late James B. Recchie, a founding trustee of Columbus Landmarks. It honors excellence in urban design reflected in historic or new buildings and places, additions to existing buildings, parks, public spaces and public art. The award celebrates projects that add to the distinctive character and improved quality of life of Columbus and the designers responsible for them.

The reception begins at 5:30, followed at 6:45 by a our program featuring speaker Paul E. Westlake Jr., FAIA, Managing Principal and a Lead Designer in the firm of Westlake Reed Leskosky, with offices in Cleveland, Phoenix, Washington DC, New York, and Los Angeles.  Mr. Westlake was one of the youngest architects to have been elected to the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects and is a recipient of a state level AIA Gold Medal, the highest honor that AIA bestows on an individual.

Our jury members this year are:

Ed Mickelson, FASLA, is the Design Leader for NBBJs Landscape Architecture and Urban Design Practice. Although based in the Columbus office, his work takes him all over the world.

Dr. Melanie Corn is President of the Columbus College of Art & Design. An art historian by education, she is building a national reputation for the college and strengthening CCADs role as a leading cultural institution in the region. 

Alan Weiskopf, AIA, Managing Principal, Perfido Weiskopf Wagstaff + Goettel, Pittsburgh. He and his firm have recently completed the $135 million historic rehabilitation of Cincinnati Music Hall.

Come join us in congratulating the finalists and toasting our 2018 winner!