Westerville Symphony Presents an Evening with Mozart


5:00 PM to 6:30 PM

$0 - $25

Riley Auditorium, Battelle Fine Arts Center

Otterbein College, Westerville, OH 43081

(614) 899-9000

Get Details


The Westerville Symphony at Otterbein University returns to Riley Auditorium on January 26th for a 264th birthday celebration of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.  This second concert in their Ron Lykins Masterworks Series includes a full staging of Mozart’s opera "The Impresario" and takes place on Sunday, January 26, 2020 at 5 pm in Riley Auditorium at Otterbein University. 

The opening of "Eine Kleine Natchmusik" is perhaps the most recognizable tune by Mozart.  Written in 1787, a year where little is known of Mozart’s life aside from his father dying, this charming little work came about as Mozart was busy working on "Don Giovanni".  Typically, such serenades usually came about to celebrate to celebrate specific occasions, but there is no evidence of this occurring.  It’s just a delightful “little night music” that’s been charming audience for over two hundred years.  

Harmoniemusik is term that refers to woodwind chamber ensembles from the 18th century and arranging popular operas for these portable ensembles was very common.  "The Marriage of Figaro" octets, there are two, was arranged by Johann Nepomuk Wendt, an oboist with the Vienna State Opera where the premiere of the opera took place, and member of the harmonie group in the court of Emperor Joseph II.  The octet includes the well-loved overture and four wonderful arias. 

When he was asked to write a mini-opera for an evening where his piece was to be paired with an opera by Antonio Salieri, Mozart was already hard at work on "The Marriage of Figaro".  Given two weeks, Mozart composed "The Impresario" about the trials and tribulations of running an opera company in 18th century Vienna.  Very much an opera buffa, Mozart described the work in his thematic catalogue as “a comedy, consisting of an overture, two arias, a trio and vaudeville.”  Our production is directed by Robert Behrens and includes in the cast: Christopher Purdy, Alec Arnett, Robert Bux, Helen Allen and Laura Portune.  The text has been modernized to reflect the challenges of running an opera company in 2020 by Dag Ryen and runs about 45 minutes in length. 

Tickets are available on-line at westervillesymphony,org and can also be purchased at the door.  Seating is limited for this performance and it is suggested that tickets be purchased in advance.